Interview with The Business Times (The Unedited Version)

Education & Catastrophe 43

John Tan Business Times Interview

Happy new year, dear readers! For those of you who have been subscribers since the early days of this newsletter, thanks for sticking around! And for those who subscribed recently, welcome! There are now 500 of you receiving this newsletter in your inbox every week. Every issue I get a few unsubscribes. I get it - this is not for everybody. Fortunately, I'm adding new subscribers slightly faster than I'm losing existing ones.

The point is, in 2023, what would you like to know about the future of work and learning? How can Education & Catastrophe add value to your life?

I would love to hear from you if you have thoughts on what else I should be writing about, or how else this newsletter can play a part in making learning and work more meaningful and purposeful.

I keep writing this newsletter because I believe it can become a voice in the movement for change. Changes not just to the education system, or the nature of work, but also how we live, play and thrive. Because earth is a limited resource. Time is a limited resource. Let's make a dent in the universe. Or at least get our kids to.

My recent interview with The Business Times. The unedited version.

1. Tell us about your work history and how you discovered that your calling was in the field of education?

I started in management consulting. Hated it. Lasted about 3 years. I didn't want to be the guy telling CEOs what to do. I'd rather be building myself. So I started a frozen yoghurt brand called Frolick with a couple of friends. Great branding. Ask Singaporeans above 25 and they'll probably still remember the colourful badges with the cheeky slogans.

I got into tech by accident. My neighbour from my student days in London started Chope. A couple of us decided to pool our funds together to invest in Arrif's startup. Cause he's a smart guy. And charismatic too. That first investment quickly became five, ten, fifty investments. I've invested in close to a hundred startups in the last eleven years. Didn't know what I was doing early on. Paid a lot of tuition fees. It's the best way to learn. Fortunately, I made a couple of good bets. In the early stage investing game, a couple of winners will more than pay for all the losers.

I started Saturday Kids in 2012, shortly after I started angel investing. Initially it was just a side project to get kids to learn how to code. Cause I was hanging out with all these tech founders. I figured there's no reason why kids need to wait till college to learn computer science. So Saturday Kids became the first coding school for kids in Singapore. The first five years was very difficult. Coding for kids wasn't a thing. We spent those five years educating parents on why kids should learn how to create with technology.

We got our big break in 2017, when Google asked us to run Code In The Community, the largest free coding programme in Singapore. I spun out an edtech entity called Doyobi (Saturday in Japanese) from Saturday Kids in 2020 to focus on helping kids learn life skills that will prepare them for the future.

2. What do you believe is the most absurd thing about how kids are educated today?

Where do I start? The entire education system is built on the premise that the average student exists. That kids know the same things, learn the same way, at the same age. It's completely absurd. There's no such thing as an average student. Why do we persist with a one-size-fits-all system?

The other thing about school is that it is almost entirely disconnected from the real world. When I was a student in secondary school and junior college, I remember constantly wondering how what I was learning in school had anything to do with the work people do. This was twenty five years ago, mind you. The world is changing much faster today than when I was a student. But schools have hardly changed. My kids are still doing the same math problem sums I did when I was their age. A couple of days ago, I showed my four year old son how to create AI generated art. He got the hang of it pretty quickly and made an AI generated image of a car on a race track. Even four year olds are creators. Schools are light years behind where the world is at and what technology is capable of.

As an investor and founder, I've also seen first hand how unprepared young people are for the requirements of working life. They come out of college with a piece of paper and very few skills. Take something as basic as writing. I've met so many people who cannot write if their lives depended on it. Think about what you want to say, say it as simply as possible, put it down in writing. So many people cannot do that. What are they learning in school? The same goes for other skills like critical thinking, collaboration, problem-solving etc. I started Doyobi to solve this. If kids are coming out of school without these skills, we need to be doing something about it.

I believe the purpose of education is to instil the joy of learning and help young people make their way in the world. Education as it is today does quite the opposite. Kids hate learning (some even have a phobia of learning) and come out of college completely unprepared for what life throws at them.

3. You’ve been angel investing for several years in US and South-east Asian startups — what are some of the biggest lessons learnt? One of your most notable investments is in Ninja Van. How did that come about and what are some of the most memorable moments from the early days?

In early stage investing, it's all about the founders. I am betting on people more than I am betting on an idea or a product. It took me a couple of years to understand that. I have many horror stories of founders I've invested in doing crazy things to bazooka the company. The most absurd is probably the YC founder who quit the startup I invested in to start a right wing social network in support of Donald Trump.

These days I hardly invest in founders I don't know. They may be brilliant, but if they don't know how to inspire the team, manage people, and do right by investors, I'm not getting my money back.

I invested in Ninja Van because I had invested in the team's previous startup, a fashion e-commerce business, and I know them very well. I saw how hard they work, how street smart they are, how well they work together, and I just knew they will be successful at some point. The question is whether I am willing to keep backing them. I had already lost quite a lot of money on their previous startup. Fortunately, I trusted my instinct and wrote them that first cheque to start Ninja Van.

In the early days of Ninja Van, I was in the warehouse with the founders sorting parcels way past midnight. We would play keepy up to stay awake. The first couple of Christmases, I had to drive around in a van delivering parcels. Everyone chipped in. I remember there was this one driver who went rogue and held our parcels ransom. I jumped into a car with the founders and we tracked him down eventually. He still wanted to negotiate. I started yelling at him and eventually he backed down. The Ninja guys told me later they have never seen me so fierce before, lol.

4. You hail from the same alma mater as some notable names in South-east Asian tech, such as Sea’s Ye Gang and Zopim’s Royston Tay. Did your paths cross and were there indications that tech would be where all of you would make your mark?

Ye Gang, Royston and I are all 82 Chinese High Hwachong. I used to play street soccer with Royston. Always on different teams. Ye Gang I don't remember much of. There's also Stanley from Koobits, Jingjia from Gudang Ada, Shouzi from TikTok. We are all same year Chinese High and later on, Hwa Chong. I don't think any of us had any idea we are going to end up in tech.

Perhaps Chinese High boys are just more entrepreneurial?

A couple of years above me there's Darius from 99Co and Dershing from JobsCentral, and quite a few years younger than me there's Oswald and Yingcong from Glints. I think maybe part of it is that the school culture at Chinese High helps builds confidence.

Because we are an independent school, the principal would give us day off for winning the track & field championship, gym championship etc. Something about that must have rubbed off on us. We just have that confidence and independent streak to want to do things our way.

5. What is one piece of advice you would give your younger self?

Be skeptical about other people's definition of success.

Many young people have been conditioned by adults in their life to take the path of least resistance, land a well-paying job, and be happy with "success". This may work for some people, but it may not work for you.

Teachers, parents, siblings etc are cheerleaders. Don’t live your life according to somebody else’s definition of a life well-lived.

Decide for yourself what is important to you and what makes you excited about getting out of bed every morning.

Or as we like to say at Doyobi, be an original thinker with a sense of purpose.

If this essay resonates, you may want to check out issue 39 of Education & Catastrophe 'YSEALI Summit 2022 Keynote'

If this was useful to you, please share it with your friends!

Subscribe now and follow me on LinkedIn, Instagram and Twitter for thoughts on the future of work and learning.

Till the next issue!